View of the church from the north


St Michael

Newark Archdeaconry

Newstead Deanery


St Michael’s church is mentioned in Domesday Book and over the centuries it has experienced much change, though it retains evidence in its fabric from the 12th to the 15th century. There are two important medieval cross-slabs, one in the floor of the nave and the second, now relocated, under the tower.

In 1914, major work was undertaken when the plaster was removed from the walls. More recently, in 2005, a re-ordering project took place, blending together old and new.

Striking features are the modern bell-ringing gallery and flamed-copper organ pipes, but throughout are enticing gems telling of centuries of faith.