For this church:
In 1911 the glass in the lancet style windows in the apsidal east end was replaced by William Morris & Co. From their Catalogue of Designs, dated 11th July 1911, comes the following description:
Bestwood Notts. Emmanuel Church 1911, Chancel 5 lts.
1. St. Matthew with Angel and scroll.
The window heads are painted and stencilled. On the wall beneath the windows are inscribed the following words:
Morris’s catalogue notes:
The word ‘executed’ is misleading, since the glass was certainly made in the usual way by Morris & Co: the Duchess was merely the patron
The Duchess Sybil could not have been involved in the execution of the William Morris windows as she died in 1871. The Morris windows are in memory of her daughter Lady Sybil Evelyn de Vere Lascells.
The names of Morris’s glass painters were: Evangelists, curtains and emblems by Glasby, Good Shepherd by Titcombe, tree and sky backgrounds by Glasby and Titcombe. The sketch design (264-1911) belongs to Mr S L Berger. The window designs are not unique to Emmanuel Church but are shared with a number of churches throughout the country.
The five original windows said to be executed by Sybil, first wife of the 10th Duke featured the four evangelists with their symbols within roundels in the top third of the design of each window. The central light depicted the Lamb of God carrying a banner, which represents the resurrection, Jesus victorious over death. At the bottom of the window were inscribed the words LAUS DEO.
Low down between the lancet windows are two smaller, coloured windows which are part of Duchess Sybil’s memorial porch.
The remainder of the glass in the church is clear.